ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual meeting held on 11 May 2010 (3:30pm)

PRESENT: Councillor Selwyn Williams - Chairperson

Councillor G.O.Jones - Vice-Chairperson

Councillors W.J.Chorlton; E.G.Davies; Lewis Davies; B. Durkin; Jim Evans; Keith Evans; C.Ll.Everett, P.M.Fowlie, D.R.Hughes, Fflur M.Hughes; K.P.Hughes, R.Ll.Hughes; W.I.Hughes; Aled Morris Jones; Eric Jones; H.Eifion Jones; O.Glyn Jones; Raymond Jones; R.Dylan Jones; C.McGregor; Rhian Medi, Bryan Owen; J.V.Owen;

R.L.Owen; R.G.Parry OBE; G.O.Parry MBE; Eric Roberts; J.A.Roberts, P.S.Rogers, E.Schofield; Ieuan Williams.

IN ATTENDANCE: Interim Managing Director

Corporate Director (Finance),

Corporate Director (Environment & Technical Services)

Corporate Director (Education and Leisure)

Acting Managing Director (Housing & Social Services)

Director of Legal Services / Monitoring Officer;

Head of Service (Policy),

Solicitor to the Monitoring Officer; Committee Services Manager

Press Officer

APOLOGIES: Councillors T.LI.Hughes, W.T.Hughes, R.LI.Jones, T.H.Jones,

G.W.Roberts.OBE. H.W.Thomas. J.Penri Williams.

The meeting was opened with a Prayer offered by Councillor E.G.Davies.

1 CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor Selwyn Williams be elected Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2010/11.

In accepting the honour of being appointed he promised the Council that he would carry out the duties involved to the best of his abilities. Councillor Williams also took the opportunity of paying tribute to the retiring Chairperson, Councillor O.Glyn Jones for his commitment in representing the County Council throughout his term of office.

Councillor O.Glyn Jones, the retiring Chairperson, thanked all the members and officers of the Council for their support and co-operation during his term of office. He also gave a synopsis of his duties as Chairperson which involved representing the County Council at various functions throughout the year. He expressed his best wishes to Councillor Williams and hoped that he would also enjoy a happy and successful term of office.

2 VICE-CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor Gwilym O.Jones be elected Vice-Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2010/11.

Councillor Jones thanked the members for their confidence in him and thanked members for their very kind words. He expressed his intention to co-operate with and support the newly elected Chairperson.

The Leader of the Council congratulated Councillor Jones upon the honour of being appointed Vice-Chairperson. He went on to state that agreement had been reached with the Council's Political Groups that from next year, the Opposition Groups would have the opportunity of choosing a Vice-Chair.

Councillor W.J.Chorlton, Opposition Group Leader, also congratulated the Vice-Chairperson upon his appointment and looked forward to providing the name of the candidate for Vice-Chairperson for the 2011/12 Municipal year.

3 TO APPOINT A DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

Councillor Ff.M.Hughes congratulated Councillor Selwyn Williams upon being appointed Chairperson of the County Council. She also took the opportunity of proposing the re-appointment of Councillor R.G.Parry,OBE as Deputy Leader of the Council. Councillor O.Glyn Jones seconded the proposal.

RESOLVED that Councillor R.G.Parry, OBE, be re-elected DEPUTY LEADER of the Isle of Anglesey County Council.

Councillor R.G.Parry,OBE thanked the Council upon the honour of being re-appointed Deputy Leader of the County Council. He also took the opportunity of congratulating both the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Council following their appointments today and also thanked the Political Group Leaders for their co-operation.

4 ANNOUNCEMENTS

Nothing to report.

5 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None to declare.

6 DELEGATION BY THE LEADER / MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE

In accordance with Rule 4.4.1.2 of the Executive Procedure Rules, the Leader of the Council named the following as the members he had chosen to service on the Executive, together with their Portfolio Responsibilities:-

Councillor C. McGregor - Portfolio Holder for Legal, Fleet, Health & Safety, (Leader) Communications & Media, Wylfa, Procurement

Councillor R. LI. Hughes - Portfolio Holder for Social Services

Councillor Bryan Owen
Councillor E. G. Davies
- Portfolio Holder for Economic Development & Tourism
- Portfolio Holder for Highways, Transportation & Maritime

Councillor K.P.Hughes - Portfolio Holder for Education & Leisure

Councillor Aled Morris Jones - Portfolio Holder for Planning

Councillor Ieuan Williams - Portfolio Holder for Corporate Management

Councillor Tom Jones - Portfolio Holder for Finance & ICT

Councillor W. I. Hughes - Portfolio Holder for Housing & Community Safety

Councillor R.G.Parry, OBE - Portfolio Holder for Environment, Property and Smallholdings

The Leader took the opportunity of expressing his best wishes to Councillor K.P.Hughes,newly elected Portfolio Holder for Education and Leisure and he wished him well in his new post.

7 CONFIRMATION OF COMMITTEES

The Chairperson confirmed the re-appointment of the current Committee structure as referred to in Section 3.4 of the Council's Constitution, together with the decision taken on Item 5.4 earlier in relation to Scrutiny and Audit, including the following:-

- Pay & Grading Panel set up by the County Council
- Standards Committee Appointments Panel
- Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education
- Special Educational Needs Joint Committee

8 CONFIRMATION OF SCHEME OF DELEGATION

The Chairperson confirmed such part of the Scheme of Delegation as the Constitution determined it was for the Council to agree (as set out in Paragraph 3.2 of the Constitution).

9 PROGRAMME OF ORDINARY MEETINGS OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

RESOLVED to approve the following programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the ensuing year:-

 14th September 2010
 - 2.00 pm

 9th December 2010
 - 2.00 pm

 3rd March 2011
 - 2.00 pm

 5th May 2011 (Annual Meeting)
 - 2.00 pm

The meeting concluded at 4:15 pm

COUNCILLOR SELWYN WILLIAMS
CHAIRMAN